CHAPTER II.—CONSTITUTION AND GOVERNMENT*

CONSPECTUS

	PAGE		PAGE
Part I.—Constitution of Canada	62	Part III.—Administrative Functions of the Federal Government	100
Part IIMachinery of Government		SECTION 1. FINANCIAL ADMINISTRATION	100
SECTION 1. THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT Subsection 1. The Executive Subsection 2. The Legislature Subsection 3. The Judiciary	66	SECTION 2. DEPARTMENTS, BOARDS, COm- MISSIONS, ETC	104 114
Section 2. Provincial and Territorial Governments	80	Section 4. Acts Administered by Federal Departments	123
Subsection 1. Newfoundland Subsection 2. Prince Edward Island Subsection 3. Nova Scotia	81 82	Part IV.—Federal Government Employ- ment	128
Subsection 4. New Brunswick	83 84	Part V.—Canada's External Relations	140
Subsection 5. Quebec Subsection 6. Ontario Subsection 7. Manitoba	86	SECTION 1. DIPLOMATIC REPRESENTATION AS AT JAN. 31, 1963.	141
Subsection 8. Saskatchewan		Section 2. International Activities, 1962	145
Subsection 9. Alberta Subsection 10. British Columbia Subsection 11. Yukon and Northwest	89 90	Subsection 1. Canada and Common- wealth Relations Subsection 2. Canada and the United	145
Territories	92	Nations.	146
SECTION 3. MUNICIPAL GOVERNMENT SECTION 4. FEDERAL AND PROVINCIAL	93	Subsection 3. Canada and the North Atlantic Treaty Organization Subsection 4. Canadian External Aid	151
ROYAL COMMISSIONS.	98	Programs	153

The interpretation of the symbols used in the tables throughout the Year Book will be found facing p. 1 of this volume.

PART I.—CONSTITUTION OF CANADA

The Canadian federal state, which today comprises ten provinces and two vast northern territories, had its beginning ninety-six years ago in the enactment (Mar. 29, 1867) by the British Parliament of the British North America Act, 1867. Fashioned largely out of the Seventy-two Resolutions drafted at Quebec (1864) by the Fathers of Confederation, the British North America Act, 1867 provided for the federal union of the three British North American provinces (Canada, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia) in one Dominion under the name of "Canada".

While the new nation that came into being on July 1, 1867 was a federation comprised of four provinces, namely, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, Sect. 146 of the Act provided for the admission into the Union of the Crown colonies of Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland on the Atlantic and the united (1866) island and mainland colony of British Columbia on the Pacific, and also of the vast expanse of Hudson's Bay Company territory in the North West known as "Rupert's Land and the North-Western Territory". Following the negotiation of an agreement on terms comprising the Company's surrender of its authority and territories to the Crown (which was

^{*} Except where otherwise indicated, the information in this Chapter has been brought up to the date of Apr. 30, 1963. Certain changes occurring between that date and the date of going to press will be found in an Appendix to this volume. Also, official appointments made up to the date of going to press will be found in Chapter XXVI (see Index).